The Monopoly Deal Rules for Rent cards section contains a list of Rules and frequently asked questions pertaining to how Rent cards can be used, when they can be used, and what they can do. Topics range from "Does Double the Rent count as a turn" to "Who pays rent". The official Monopoly Rules are used to answer as many of the questions as possible. If the official rules are not known for that question then the generally accepted answer is used.
1. How do Rent Cards work? What are the Monopoly Deal Rules for Rent Cards?
Rent cards must be laid into the center discard pile to be played and you must have properties down on the table in front of you to charge rent. You can only choose one property color to charge rent against for each rent card played. Monopoly Deal has two types of rent cards. One type of rent card is the wild rent card that is distinguished by a color wheel of all 10 colors on the front of the card (see image on this page). Once played, this wild rent card forces only one other player (whom you choose) to pay rent for the properties you choose based on what is laid in front of you. You can only choose one property color to charge rent against. The other type of rent card is a two color split or dual color rent card (see image on this page). To play the split color rent card, it must be laid into the center to use and you must have at least one of the property colors (that is shown on the rent card) laid down in your property section on the table. Once played, this rent card forces all players to pay rent for the properties you choose in only one of the colors shown on the rent card.
2. Does the Double The Rent card count as a turn? Does it count as one of your three plays?
Yes. An example would be a player lays a property card, a rent card, and a double the rent card during their turn. This would be all three of their card plays.
3. Can I charge rent for two separate sets of properties with the same rent card?
No, a rent card can only be played against one color of property card(s). So you must choose which property color you would like to charge rent against.
4. Is Rent always collected from all players?
Yes and No - The answer depends on the Rent card played. If a player plays a dual color rent card, they collect rent from all players. If a player plays a multicolor wild rent card, then they only collect rent against one player that they choose.
5. Can I play 2 Double The Rent cards during one turn?
Yes, wowzer! That is quite a blow but bombs away! Each double the rent card counts as a card played so playing 2 double the rent cards would take up 2 of your 3 allowed card plays during your turn.